Traveling troubadour D.B. Rouse to release "Choices Were Made," Feb. 1st


Offering up all the sincerity, none of the pretense, D.B. Rouse is America’s least-earnest traveling troubadour. “A superb musician,” (Austin American-Statesman), Rouse is armed with a guitar (nicknamed “Meal-Ticket”) and a kazoo. A poet with an absurd sense of humor, the Milwaukee-based (but always touring), former cruise ship lounge singer, goat farmer, and cabana man, will release a new album Choices Were Made on February 1st.

Eclectic Bay area to Boston songwriter, Jane Frank, readies "The Big Squeeze"


“I asked her how to write a song,” Boston-based musician Jane Frank recalls. Frank is currently prepping the release of her eclectic debut album, The Big Squeeze, arriving Dec. 14th.

Frank interviewed Jenny Lewis of Rilo Kiley when the former was a reporter for her college newspaper. Frank was thinking about becoming a songwriter herself – she had been writing her whole life – journals, stories, and now journalism – but the process of songwriting baffled her. Fortunately, Frank figured it out.

Look out for The Big Squeeze by Jane Frank on Dec. 14th, preceded by the single and music video, “Practical Jackets”.

Alex Lilly shares video for "Distracting Me" single with The FADER


"Pretty freaking awesome," says The FADER of the Alex Lilly single "Distracting Me," out now. In its premiere coverage of the song's music video, Myles Tanzer writes, "It's a weird Los Angeles fantasy world where the digital realm crosses into real life and there's a lot of cats all around." Take a look, and watch out for Alex's debut album 2% Milk, arriving Jan. 11th via the Release Me Records label, recently formed by Inara George of the bird and the bee.


the black watch on the road in support of "Witches," out now.


John Andrew Fredrick, leader of Los Angeles-based, the black watch, is currently out on a short tour supporting the band’s 16th (true!) studio album, Witches!, out now on the Atom Records label. A video for the single “Georgette, Georgette” recently premiered via UK website XS Noize, along with a lengthy interview and review of the album.

the black watch - On Tour

  • 10/25/2018: Tempe, AZ @ Yucca Tap Room

  • 10/27/2018: Bizbee, AZ @ The Quarry

  • 10/29/2018: Denver, CO @ Seventh Circle Music Collective

  • 10/30/2018: Wichita, KS @ Kirby's

  • 11/01/2018: Normal, IL @ Nightstop

  • 11/03/2018: Minneapolis, MN @ Nomads

  • 11/06/2018: Chicago, IL @ Elbo Room

  • 11/09/2018: Dayton, OH @ South Park Tavern


J Hacha De Zola takes sonic detour with Spanish language synth love song at PopMatters


J Hacha De Zola's four-song, all-Spanish language, synth-driven EP "Syn Illusión," is out Nov. 16th. It's a diversion from the "urban junkyard" sound that J will return to on his next album. Says PopMatters of the title track: "As songs on the matter go, this is one that's bound to light the way forward and inspire a legion of imitators."


Alex Lilly shares first single from upcoming "2% Milk" album


You may be familiar with Alex Lilly from her work with the bird and the bee and The Living Sisters, or her gigs as part of the touring bands behind Beck and Lorde. On Jan. 11th, Lilly will release her first solo album 2% Milk via Inara George's newly-formed Release Me Records. The first single "Distracting Me" arrives tomorrow and the L.A. Record has premiered it today, calling out its "punchy beat and engaging twisty-turny melodies, written about how romance re-orders priorities."